curns' corner

By curns

No so healthy

Although I was home before midnight, and the red wine helped me sleep with the pain in my shoulder, it wasn’t a good night and my throat felt very dry this morning.  G prefers red wine and says she never feels as bad after red wine when compared to white. I am the other way around and I wish I’d recalled that at some point last night. A bunch of meetings first thing got me up and going.  

In the evening we went to Soho to meet P and W.  We met upstairs in Comptons pub which was, as I imagine it is every Friday night, very busy; downstairs is always packed.  P managed to grab some seats in the window of the upstairs bar so we could sit and chat. There as a drunken dancer behind PY who at one point, looked like he was going to spend the evening colliding with us. His friends stepped in and they left before he’d irritated anybody.

Then to the Old Compton Brasserie for dinner.  We were seated in a great area at the back upstairs which was away from the speakers. At some point they switched to a DJ playing from the downstairs bar. It meant we weren’t shouting at each other and a lovely evening was had. 

I had the house (OCB) burger which went against everything I’d planned but it was comfort food after last night’s indulgences. My starter of crispy fried artichokes was delicious. The others went for the steak tartare to start with. It was a bit of a twist, the meat sat on a hash brown and there was no egg.  Everybody had a different reason for saying it was not being quite right, which is a shame as it looked great and - initially - I was quite jealous.  

We walked back to Waterloo after dinner as it wasn’t too cold; or, at least, we were wrapped up against the the weather which was (just) above freezing. It wasn’t a late night which was good for me as bay the end of the evening I was exhausted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.