curns' corner

By curns

The original

This mug features a TARDIS and a Doctor Who logo from the 80s. I notice that a variant of the logo is being used again in the new iteration of the shows in the Whoniverse (saying that word may be a step too far for me).

I have always loved Doctor Who (Tom Baker was my Doctor, if you’re asking). I bought the original Doctor Who Magazine for years. I knew all the answers in a Doctor Who trivia book that I had as a child. There’s a TARDIS money box behind me as I work. I had the playing cards (I’m sure I posted one on the Internet somewhere at one time). And, when I was a child, I went to an exhibition (I think it might have been in Blackpool but I can’t be sure) where I bought this mug but it’s never been used for any liquid. Periodically, it has moved around with me but I don’t think I have ever had a drink from it. It sits in a drawer, hidden. I think it’s a bit sad but I know it’s there. 

All these things might suggest that I am a big fan. I like the show, and I really like the current iteration, but I don’t love it enough to remember much about the storylines. I have long forgotten the trivia in the book I mentioned. I couldn’t tell you many of the villains and most of the assistants have come and gone without registering in my memory. If you’re not The Doctor or a Dalek then I probably won’t remember your name. Rose Tyler excepted. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.