Flounce

Pink is not my colour, showy is not my style, but I love peonies. Like me, they sit in a grump for most of the winter then suddenly, around the equinox, notice that the world might be worth living in after all. Through April and May you can see the movement of their red stems speeding skywards until they fling out their leaves then their pursed kisses of buds. They tease for four or so weeks then one morning there they all are, flouncy and exuberant, like fifteen-year-olds dressed up for an evening out.

Usually they live it up until the solstice then, again like me, remember the shortening days and slump. But this year they're a good three weeks later than usual, so still have a while more to grow old disgracefully in the wind and the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.