nogbad's blips

By nogbad

Mise en place

That's proper pukka French, like what is spoken by folks in France, that is. It's also a catering term but not in the sense of "I'll have two portions of mise en place and chips, please"; languages can be confusing at times.

I found a bag of 00 flour in the back of the cupboard, so I decided to make some pizza dough, which means that I also need to make some sauce for the pizza - here it is. It's tomato with chili and oregano, and these three tubs will go in the freezer, I've also got some for my pizza this evening. I can use this sauce as a base for other things, it's nice for dipping fresh bread, and it'll go on spuds for patatas bravas.

So now you know that mise en place means making tomato sauce (or something). Call again for more language lessons, particulary kitchen French.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.