Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

I woke up this morning and I couldn't decide whether to do my Ramblers group walk or not. It was 11 miles and I was concerned about my knee, but I downloaded a route or two on the OS maps app and decided that, if the walk was too much, I'd take a shorter route back.

The pace of the walk was quite leisurely, which suited me, and we searched for and admired all the clumps of snowdrops that Staunton Harold and Calke Abbey are famous for. It was lovely to walk with my group, catch up with their news and enjoy their company. Hurrah cos I've missed them!

We were parked next to the garden centre and I had a good look round after the walk, buying a flowering quince, seed trays and tomato seeds. There were some broken crocks for free and I picked out a large bit to use as an allotment number marker. It's in the rules that you should mark your plot with its number, so I've just got to find some paint now!

Oh, and it turned out that the walk wasn't 11 miles at all!

7.61 miles
684 feet elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.