CrocusMan

By TonyG

Whiling away the Time

Rather than whittle sticks, I'm happy fettling clay.   These have all been made since we arrived, each starting out as a small piece of clay.  Divided into two, made into two thumb pots which I join, then fettle until I am happy with the shape.  Those with a rim have had a few coils of clay added, this again fettled into shape.   Three are dry and ready for bisque firing when I get home, the darker one will dry to the same colour in a few days.  I find all it very relaxing.   There is one more in production, larger, started since the pic was taken.  This is the stage at which the pieces are most fragile .... I shall pack them very carefully.  I brought a polystyrene box with this in mind.  Strong and shock absorbing, with scrunched up newspaper as padding, all will be well.

Assorted admin done alongside the clay play.   Meg and I explored a different bit of Hull on our walk.  She is very anxious at the best of times and especially so in a noisy city.   We used pedestrians only streets as much as possible.   Meg didn't bark at any of the many buses we saw, a first I think.  It was close a few times though but perhaps she is getting more used to them.   Tomorrow we must start to pack everything up ready for an early start on Friday.  We've acquired quite a lot of stuff this week so it's going to be a challenge ... of the genie back in the bottle type! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.