While on my runs

By waipushrink

Warou in alternate plumage

Yesterday my walk took me past the Woodlands Park Store, and I carried an empty 1L bottle to buy fresh milk. As I neared the store I realised that I had forgotten to put $4 in my pocket to buy the milk. 

Today I did the same walk. With the same bottle. And this time with the money. As I went down Rimutaka Place I saw just two Warou catching insects on the wing, and none perched on the overhead wires. Much later on I saw that there were many Warou on overhead wires in Woodlands Park Road. Fortuitously, I happened to get a good photo of a Warou in the (dark) alternate plumage. It was also fortunate that the clouds had moved away from obscuring the sun, and the bird is shown against a bright blue sky through a clear atmosphere.

(Added an extra)
As I went down the steep track from Rimutaka Place to Huia Road, I heard and then saw a cicada clinging to a sapling and singing as it dried its wings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.