flavia13

By flavia13

GREY DAY

Took ages to get off to sleep last night, but when I did I slept well, so that is good, for me.

Going to my U3A Photography Group this afternoon when we are having a presentation by a member who is trying AI Photography.  It will be interesting to see what he does but I have to admit I'm not keen on AI. To me it feels like a loss of humanity.  It will have it's great medical advantages of course but using it for art or photography, just doesn't seem right somehow, it's taking the human element out.  However I am prepared to have my mind changed so we will see.  

At least we can see across The Bay today but it's so grey and gloomy.  

I'm looking into have a couple of days up in Cockermouth next month, if we ever get two nice days strung together.  I have been to Cockermouth a couple of times and always like it, but it takes a couple of hours to get there so can't explore any further and I think I would like to do that.  Cumbria isn't just about The Lakes and I would like to see another side of it.

The idea is to stay up there (I've already got places in mind) so I can then explore Cockermouth itself, go to The Beacon and Whitehaven Harbour, have a drive along the Solway Coast maybe and hopefully visit Buttermere.  On the way home we would come via St Bees so I can have a look at that as well.  Again I have been there before but only briefly.  

We're not ones for going out in the evening but like to make a full day out, so we will be catering for ourselves, but finding nice places for lunch.  

So if anyone knows of any sights that are a must in that area please do let me know.  Also areas that I should avoid would be helpful.  I like great views and history.  We can't do any heavy walking due to Hubby at the moment but nice easy walks with views for a couple of hours would be great.  

Living in the southern most part of Cumbria it would be good to explore the Northern area.  Not Carlisle on this short visit as I've been a few times and plan a separate day out up there at some point. 

I will be waiting to book anything until I can see a weather forecast for a couple of reasonable and dry days in a row, then all systems go!!!

I have to admit I'm not one for wanting to travel overseas any more, but want to explore so much more of our own country.  I've already seen a lot but there is still so much I haven't seen.

Having said all that I really love to see other peoples photos and stories of exotic overseas places, especially the views, buildings and peoples.  They do always make me wish I was more adventurous but never having like air travel is a big hindrance anyway and it's got worse as I've got older.  Silly really but that is me. 

Anyway enough of my ramblings, do take care and stay safe and I look forward to seeing and reading all your blips.  You are so inspirational it motivates me into doing things that maybe I wouldn't otherwise do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.