Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

A Huddle of Sheep

This small flock of sheep is presently resident in part of the Meadowbank Vineyards. The land-owners graze them in there from time to time during the year.
I and the dogs waded through the repaired ford this morning and headed up- stream for a good 30 minutes.
I was aware there were sheep in this area but saw no sign of them in the scrub along the boundary. On our way back I spotted some in the distance. Of course the dogs were immediately put on their leads. There is no way they can get through the fencing along this track but I noted that the sheep started to run along the fence-line until they decided to gather together in this protective little huddle. They looked very apprehensive.
The dogs found this very interesting and exciting but were restrained very firmly.
I wondered why the sheep were so nervous until I recalled that at the beginning of our walk one of our dog-walker friends, who has a large amiable golden retriever, told me that he had seen a fox terrier rushing up and down along the fence-line frightening the flock.
I had seen the foxie on my walk. The owner did not appear to be carrying a dog lead. Some folk are extremely feckless when they are around stock. Next time I see that foxie owner I will be asking where her dog lead is. I feel very protective of any animals and think other humans should be more thoughtful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.