suehutton

By suehutton

The Revamped Market Place, Shepshed

It's taken over six months to complete but today workmen were just tidying up. The market hasn't got here quite yet but should be in place next Friday. And what are people moaning about? There's nowhere for them to park their cars. As I remarked to Al who was filming for his Shepshed poddy, people have forgotten how to walk.

The photo isn't sharp, for which I apologise. I need to use a tripod for this type of shot.

We bought fish, some vegetables and a lump of Cropwell Bishop Stilton before adjourning to Finkins for toasted egg and bacon sarnies.

Then we drove to Loughborough to collect Basil's next instalment of heart tablets and to order his worming tablets. It's all go (!). The crocuses in the grounds of nearby All Saints Church are in full bloom (extra).

It was such a lovely and mild day that we traveled home via Nanpantan Reservoir for Len to take Basil for a walk. The extra shows the scene across the water.

Len put a camp chair up for me before taking Basil round.The fisherman in the Campervan next to me came and chatted. He told me that there's one great crested grebe on the water this year. I hadn't seen any last year. A pair of Canada geese are in residence but not many ducks. There's a kingfisher at the end bordering the road. (Bucket list). 

The reservoir was drained shortly before Christmas. I couldn't quite work out why. All the old carp were removed. I think he said that 'foreigners' had taken them. 44 cormorants turned up one day..

Another one for the bucket list - there's a heronry at Swithland Reservoir at Rothley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.