LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

A Tale of our Times

Ever since seeing a tray of delicious looking cooked bacon in the breakfast section of the restaurant in John Lewis last Saturday when I waited for my order of boring toast, I had planned to go back this morning and indulge in a bacon roll. I can count on one hand the no of bacon rolls I have eaten in my life time, but sometimes the call to indulge is too strong to ignore.

So with much anticipation and having arranged to meet daughter#1 in John Lewis just after 9am, I walked briskly down the Bridges arriving at the store at 9:05 am to be met with a shut door and a notice telling me the store was closed because of a power outage to the whole shop. The question of whether to have brown sauce or tomato sauce with my roll was no longer pertinent. 
A telephone conversation with the daughter already en route took place and we decided to cut our losses and repair to Costa at the foot of Hanover Street. We found a table overlooking Princes Street and I was made aware that I could get a bacon roll if I wanted one. I did want and although the daughter said she didn’t, she was happy to change her mind and eat half of mine.
‘Twas ever thus! 
It was tomato sauce btw!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.