and through the wire...

By hesscat

Aquaworld

It was a rainy day, not cold, and I was on afternoon walk duties as I was working at 5pm. I intended on doing the Gladhouse south walk that I've been doing recently, but instead I walked west to explore, not knowing how far we would get. We reached the exit ramp/overflow for the reservoir, which was dry (there was a side tunnel taking water out to bypass the overflow), so we crossed it and began walking aroudn the reservoir, but I looked down across the road and saw there had been a lot of work down there, so we headed that way.

We've never been down here, this is where the water flows out of the reservoir, apart from the previous overflow which was dry. I am not sure why this is so deep on the left, the river flows down and joins with the water coming from the exist ramp - top right photo. And from there I could see some structure on the opposite bank so we headed over there. It looks like water flows through this structure too which is built to get the water over the dip in the land, but that is fancy (bottom right). We crossed back by walking along the top of the structure and Arlo had a wee pee in the middle of it (the water is enclosed, don't worry) which I thought was odd. This wasn't a normal walk, more exploratory, we didn't go far but spent over an hour.

So, why all the waterways, here's my theory... the water going through the structure goes to Roseberry Filters, to be cleaned. It's sealed to keep it clean. The overflow and deep exit go to Roseberry Reservoir, which as far as I know, is only used for fishing. That water then heads down to Temple and Arniston. But why are these 2 exits, if they join up? And why a side tunnel to get around the overflow? How can I find this out, I need to know!

And all this was built in 1879, fascinating...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.