Arachne

By Arachne

“When I close my eyes...

... I can see my country. I can see my village. I can see my people."
 
It was so worth getting soaked in torrential rain tonight!
 
The homeless charity where I work shares a building with an arts organisation and I don’t get to anything like enough of the performances they stage in the small theatre there. Tonight I went to see Mohand and Peter, a superb physical theatre two-hander.
 
It’s about belonging, exile, imagining yourself elsewhere, friendship, threat, support, culture, being understood in Sudanese Arabic and in Geordie. I should have guessed that the refugee charity where I used to work would have brought Sudanese-heritage youngsters from the youth club and they absolutely loved it. All of them bounced onto the stage afterwards to have their pictures taken with the actors. It was good to see some of my old colleagues too.
 
Very highly recommended to anyone interested in (using theatre to look at) international and refugee issues. I’m 98% confident that this is one for Folkie and for WalkingMarj and I really hope it is for others too.
 
 
23 Feb - Portesham (DORSET)
24 Feb - Hallstock (DORSET)
28 Feb - The Cockpit (LONDON)
29 Feb - The Cockpit (LONDON)
2 March - Northern Stage (NEWCASTLE)
6 March - MANCHESTER UNIVERSITY
7 March - MANCHESTER UNIVERSITY
13 June - Home (MANCHESTER)
14 June - Home (MANCHESTER)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.