WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Wildlife on wheels

Beryl and I have headed to Middleton-in-Teesdale for a short break. I left Rich working, with the fencers and with Little Dog so I’m on emergency callback in case things start falling apart!

On that basis and with just enough daylight left, I chose my biggest ride and headed over Chapel Fell to Newbiggin. It was splendid and brought back good feelings from our trip to Cowshill a few years ago. 

Instead of heading up the Wear Valley, though, I turned east for Stanhope and off to find a new hill from Wolsingham. This took me onto the tops where I stayed high for much of the rest of the ride. 

The warm temperatures maybe sent a huge skein of geese on their travels. A couple of kestrels took off nearby and I had the odd grouse for company.

One shepherd’s pie later in my farm campsite (and a few more snacks) and I’m all set for hopefully, a catch-up on some sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.