WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Reverse!

On ten and a half hours of solid catch-up sleep, I felt very pleased with myself this morning! No rushing required either; my route today was 10 miles less than yesterday although pretty hilly.

It was mizzly when I started but by the time I was heading up Stanhope Road, it was really only heavy mist. And lovely! These roads are so quiet and feeling enveloped in the weather, I also felt in my happy place. 

I noticed lots of birdsong this morning and a lapwing called as it passed over me too. Yesterday, I was determined to stop at a cafe but wasn’t convinced the dampness would make it that much fun. Onto the third section of hill to the pass, I was feeling peckish and warm - and determined to stop! 

Stop I did for an awesome bacon butty and camomile tea in the warmth of the Dales Centre cafe in Stanhope.

I haven’t really ridden anything flat today and it was back uphill, slowly first before reversing yesterday’s hill which has had my name in it for a while. 

This pic is taken from a short section of downhill which reversed the viewpoint from yesterday - something about that amused me.

Less amusing was that I’d brought double homemade tomato sauce from the freezer instead of double homemade curry so I’ve rooted round the van for maximum protein snacks. 

Lots of stretching and I might make a short ride tomorrow. 

Made friends with the farm horses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.