WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Tea with the botanist

I've kept in touch with Margaret since we met last October. She's now 98 and started a new challenge on her birthday - to walk 55 miles in mile-a-day steps to raise money for the Teesdale Special Flora Research Conservation Trust. 


That's no mean feat when you live on top of a hill and your birthday is the start of January! I expected her to have a few weeks left to go with the snow, rain and gales we've persistently had. The route I planned today cycled almost past her door today so I veered off to see if I could catch her in.


It was 10.30 and she still had her coat on - just back from a mile and a half walk. She was surprised to see me but had no plans for the rest of the day so, gave me a big hug, invited me in for a sit down, a cup of hot water and a natter. It turns out she finishes the 55 miles next Monday, has only missed four days down to the weather and has no intention of stopping walking now she's started.

I spent a lovely hour with her before heading on my way for the other half of my ride.  The sun was now properly out, alongside the snowdrops, the birds were singing and it was a glorious finale to my mini-break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.