Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hellebores in the garden

I did not sleep well last night - I knew that Tommy was driving back from Cambridge and I only relaxed when I heard him come in, long after we had gone to bed.

Today was a bit cloudy but got sunnier as the day progressed. I had checked the weather forecast and knew this would happen, so I planned to have another attempt at photographing to owls from lunch time. I walked Xena, and then went off to get groceries, but I was surprised to see how high the River Mole was, it was lapping the street, so I realised if it was so high here it would be very high at the moor where the owls are so once again I could not go. 

The two main entrances to the moor are very flooded at the moment (over welly height), but yesterday I heard about another possible way in to the moor - however after seeing the high water of the river I did not go. Its also a bit of a faff to get there as theoretically it's about 30 minutes away although currently there are major roadworks on the A3/M25 junction (a 4 year project) so there are always delays there and I did not feel it was worth making that trip only to have no access due to flooding.

I felt a bit frustrated about not getting decent photos today so the hellebores in the garden came to the rescue!

Tonight we have another zoom camera club meeting, it is an inter club competition and with 5 clubs competing, the hall where we have our meetings cannot host everyone so zoom is the better option. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.