Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Golf!

Today was a lovely day, sunny, blue skies and very mild - it felt like spring. Gavin took Xena for a 5km run before breakfast - while I did some weights - and then after breakfast we went for a walk in the woods. 

As it was such a lovely day we decided to go play 9 holes of golf. Xena was tired from all her exercise and so would happily sleep in her favourite armchair in the sunshine while we were gone and we could play 9 holes in 2 hours so it was fine to leave her.

We played at Gavin's golf club which is a beautiful course - a difficult championship course but it is always quiet there on weekends so I could relax and concentrate on my shots. Gavin was very forgiving and when my ball went just off the fairway into the rough he moved it out for me as he said while I am learning there is no point in struggling! We did not keep score but just tried to play an enjoyable round. I was inconsistent with my driver, it needs much more practice, but I was very consistent with my 5 hybrid which I was pleased about. The greens were very fast but in excellent condition. There is a lot of water on the course, some small lakes with much birdlife and even a river. The geese are the natural hazards on the course! In the extra it's a scenario of 'where did my ball go?'

I was hoping to watch the Call the Midwife finale tonight but I see it has been delayed a week due to the Baftas on TV.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.