An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Deja vu…

Well today didn’t start quite as planned.

Woke at just after 4am with the same violent shivering and nausea I had last March, which turned out to be sepsis. Checked BP (very high) and temp (39.7) Decided to bypass the 4 hour call back wait from NHS 24 and D phoned an ambulance. After going over my symptoms the call handler asked if we could drive to hospital asap as it would be faster than waiting for an ambulance.

Got to PRI at 6am. The team in A&E were fabulous, particularly the Junior Doctor who looked at my notes right back to my motorbike crash in 1981. ECG and bloods taken.

Within 10 mins I had a cannula in and had two lots of strong antibiotics put down it. They also said I was severely dehydrated (that was surprise as I drink a minimum of 2 litres of water a day, but I suppose infection and high temp soaks it up! So was written up for IV fluids too.

Was admitted to general medical/surgical receiving ward where the ward Doctor said I did the right thing coming straight in as I’m pre-septic but it wouldn’t have taken much longer for full blown sepsis to develop.

He thinks I’ll be in for at least three days to get everything settled then will be released with a load of oral antibiotics to take. He thinks the infection is coming from my kidney and the stone and another UTI. There was talk of them asking urology to come and see me but that hasn’t happened as yet. I’m going to raise it again when the doctor does his round in the morning. I’m hoping they will do the detailed CT scan scheduled for 28th while I’m here.

Managed to get a sleep between 9.30am and just after 11am. D came back up at 2.30pm and brought me a lovely homemade sandwich and an apple. Just as well as the dinner choice was savory mince or red pepper flan!

D’s gone home now and told him not to come back in for evening visiting. I’m tired so expect I’ll doze off. And he brought my crochet so that will keep me occupied :-))

So, that’ll be that then!

P.S.I need a clock like that at home, that tells me where I am, the day and date and the time!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.