An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Exciting highlights of the day…

Still alive! :-)

I slept better than I thought I would despite the room being meltingly hot, even with the window open. Maybe it’s a ploy to make sure I drink plenty on top of the bags of fluid they’re giving me!

I was desperate to get showered as in the fluster yesterday morning I missed that stage of my morning routine and didn’t have the energy (or get the chance) to do so later.

I was just heading to the shower when a nurse appeared with my IV antibiotic and said I had to have it at the same time every day so had to make do with a quick loo trip.

By the time the antibiotic was finished the Doctors were on the ward so waited as I didn’t want to miss them. When I was still waiting at 11am I asked a nurse how long the docs would be on the ward for and she said into the afternoon. I decided to take a chance and get showered (oh it felt so good. It’s the simple things! ) I was just getting back into bed when the doctor appeared.

So, I won’t be getting seen by urology while I’m here. I’ve to keep my scan appointment next week and urology will take it from there. It wasn’t put as bluntly as this but the feeling I got was our job is to treat the infection and once that’s done you’ll be discharged.

I get my last IV antibiotic in the morning and suspect I’ll be discharged after that. I’m worried about the antibiotic I’m being discharged with to take at home though. It’s a rarely used drug due to the chance of it causing tendon damage. Yes actual snapping of tendons, as well as some other unpleasant stuff. Now given all the mobility difficulties I have, I don’t fancy adding snapped Achilles tendons to the mix! Can also affect tendons in the hands. I can’t tell you how horrified I am at the the thought of never being able to hold a camera, a paintbrush or a crochet hook again!!! (The damage can be permanent) They say it’s a rare complication but with my luck!! I will be asking lots more questions tomorrow before deciding if I’ll take it or not. I fear it’s a drug of last resort so I may have little choice if it’s either that or constantly being at risk of developing sepsis. Talk about being caught between the devil and the deep blue sea!

That aside, the good news from today is I feel a little bit brighter with a little more energy. Managed some crochet and started reading my book. A random buy D got in the hospital shop. I’m enjoying it.

D arrived at 2pm. A breath of fresh air. He brought a photo of Alan and a photo of Lola, both sending their love. LOL! He also brought coffee from the RVS shop, which is delicious and way better thank the tea and coffee on the ward, which is frothy and not in a good way.

He headed home at 5pm, just as dinner was served. Pasta bolognaise with rice. Seems fusion food has reached the hospital! Then I was transported back to the 70s with a little tub of mandarin oranges. I enjoyed them and to be honest, the pasta bolognaise was fine.

No more IV fluids so I’m drinking water for Scotland. Don’t want to be kept in due to dehydration.

Now it’s the slow slide to lights out, but there’s one last treat in store….hospital toast! And I’m not being sarcastic. It’s delish :-)))

PS I’ve amended my blip to add a shot of the frothy tea :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.