Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

The Rising

Rising out of the grasses, the first and sadly only short-eared owl of today for me and JDO who had stood there freezing far longer than I had.. Meet again I'm sure, QO, short for 'quarry owl' so named as it flies to the quarry - no brainer really (if you like naming owls that is.)

It was a slow owl day and frankly looked like the owls had either moved forward in their onward journey home or had moved to another field entirely. One could only guess. The sun was behind clouds, the wind was breezing over, the light had dropped. ISO rocketing obviously and as JDO said, 'I have a bad feeling about this!' Yes so did I! 

Strangely on my drive home I saw what could possibly have been QO in a tree but by the time I'd stopped etc etc it had flown. 

My day though had started with an outdoor bath in a wooden tub with blue skies listening to birdsong on the deck of a treehouse. Honestly you can't get a much better start to the day. My Christmas present to Hubs which honestly could have gone better if he wasn't feeling so ill and we couldn't postpone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.