0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"Have you hired these bikes?"
"No, we bought our bikes with us...from Taiwan"



I see cyclists all the time in roaming the city, but they are hardly ever accessible for photo opportunities. Ching Tso & Shih Chi (shown here) were walking alongside theirs, and I managed to catch them as they were crossing the road.

I was attracted firstly by their masks, thinking they were to prevent infection or maybe avoid toxic fumes. Ching Tso explained, "They are so we can breathe. It's cold at times and it helps to keep the face warm also" (their English was spot on by the way)

So, I had assumed they were your everyday cyclists, possibly students at the University, but it turns out they were serious bikers.

Visiting all the way from Taiwan, they were cycling across the country together. Today they were headed to York, (a good 25 mile journey), and then onto Lincoln and who knows where next.

"You are the first person to ask for our photo," said Ching Tso surprised. I asked whether they were enjoying their time in England and how they found the people. They told me how they found locals to be generally friendly but described them as having a closed shell - I knew exactly what he was talking about.

"You have to puncture the shell and then you'll see the true person," I replied.

Before letting them get on with their cycling I asked them to contact me so I could keep updated with their route - it was really refreshing to see these two having an adventure like this. I hope they find the time to contact me...

I did take several shots of them, both individually and together. I've posted a picture on my FB page which shows them both rather than this, slightly sinister, portrait :)


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.