secret garden

By freespiral

Gentrification in Millstreet

Just back from an action-packed 36 hours travelling around most of County Limerick. I reckon about 10 wells were discovered, some faring a lot better than others - one in particular horrendously prettified, St Patrick would be turning in his grave!  A particularly unexpected and delightful one was this little one dedicated to Mary Magdalen, nestling in a tiny copse on the edge of a housing estate in the outskirts of the city. 
I won't bore you with too many wells for I was also mightily taken by the vernacular architecture and could have got very distracted. I just loved this row of cottages in Millstreet, built in the 1880s, for workers no doubt. Some have been jazzily gentrified and others await their turn. I've included a close up of the window for the flowers were so colourfully co-ordinated. I think I might have gone mad and done the decorative surrounds in yellow too - would that be too much??

Home now and so pleased I went for the weather today (Tuesday) is horrendous.
And this is for SeriousFrolic - a nice bit of serendipity on her blipday
Also a back blip Well day in Tullylease

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.