Living my dream

By Mima

Selection time

Now that my Show preparations are properly underway my daunted feeling has completely gone. One step at a time it is gradually getting done. And I'm thoroughly enjoying myself.

Tweedy asked yesterday why do I exhibit my produce? 

Three reasons: 
to honour my wonderful Dad, who always showed veg at the Kirkcudbright Horticultural Show when he lived there after he retired; 
to show off; 
and to indulge my competitive nature and do my best to win the Best in Show rosette again (I won it first time there in 2020).

As I was selecting onions, beetroots and potatoes this afternoon I realised this is the only time in the year when I really look at what I've grown. Normally I pick whatever is ripe, take it to the kitchen and make something with it. I certainly don't scrutinise, let alone admire what I've harvested. 

It is a wonderful opportunity to be thankful for the knowledge I was given to grow food, for the water that fills the tanks and is used on the beds, for the sunshine which enables all that photosynthesis and growth, and for the time I have to tend the plants.

Poor old Bean played second fiddle to fruit and veg today. She did get a walk of course.

Blip will also play second fiddle for the next couple of days...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.