Living my dream

By Mima

Obsessed? Me?

The A&P Show is so much on my mind that this afternoon I accidentally found myself tying lengths of red wool onto scarlet runner beans which will be good enough to be exhibited on Friday / Saturday.

It's not time to pick them (they need to be fresh and crisp) but by marking those which will be shown, I can save myself a heap of time on Thursday evening when I'll be a bit frantic picking, matching, cleaning and getting organised.

Needless to say I have several lists of what I need to do over the next two and a half days. Tomorrow afternoon (Wednesday) I'll lift potatoes, pull onions and beetroots. 

Thursday will be hectic as I harvest almost everything else, and create a pleasing design for 'edible produce in a basket'. 

A few final items (things that will wilt) will be picked and incorporated on Friday morning before I leave for the Showgrounds at 8am.

Such a prospect is chicken-feed compared to the projects I used to run when I had a conventional job. Even so, looking ahead to the next few days, I am kicking myself for my enthusiasm! 

Bean and I had a slow walk on Cape Wanbrow when we were in town this morning for some urgent library book exchanges. The light on the Pacific was as impressive as ever and has made it to the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.