Everyday Life

By Julez

Boolean Logic

I have previously Blipped this I am sure. 

George Boole was born in Lincoln and was a mathematician (Self-taught), philosopher and logician. He was a child prodigy, starting his own school when he was 19. (I think even for geniuses there would be rules against that nowadays...) He later became a Maths professor at Cork Uni in Ireland. He was only 49 when he died but many of his mathematical theories live on to this day.

Not that I understand any of them - the algebra stuff might as well be written in Akkadian for all the sense it made to me. There must be a point to algebra but I'm not sure what it is... Boolean logic seems a bit cut and dried too, having only two alternatives - true or false.  Like if I say next door's music is loud, Boole would say "Yes it is" or "No it isn't",  but surely there are degrees? (Next door are more likely to say my music is loud to be fair. They won't though, as their son's gaming is very noisy!)

Anyway I finally had my hair coloured and cut today and it looks better than it did... I think I might have to change my colour soon though as it is starting to look a bit draining... Unless I win the lottery and can afford a few cosmetic treatments! Typically on a hair day it has been wet and windy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.