Lost in Thought

By steveng

Spreading the Load (widwed210224)

A little while ago I blipped the base plate of my Canon M5 which had picked up some nasty looking cracks around the tripod mount.   My blip is what lies beneath the base plate, which is just thin plastic.  The metal tripod mount socket looks ok so I might be able to just glue the two pieces of the base together and fix it back on with some filler to reduce any flexing. Perhaps a longer tripod adaptor plate, or L bracket too, to spread the load out more?

The M5 was introduced in 2016 and discontinued in 2019 so it is no longer supported by Canon's repair centres.  Since this particular one was 2nd hand when I bought it, has been on many great blipmeets and,  to the far side of the planet, it doesn't really owe me much :-)   I'm up to 655 blips from it so far and might well get a few more before its demise.  First blip with it is here, and I made a note of trading in some redundant older kit with MPB, so it only cost me £19, including the wide angle zoom I mostly use with it ... I really can't complain!


That small flexible circuit strip is the NFC (near field comms) antenna which is used to connect to a mobile phone to download the images without needing a card reader. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.