iaint

By iaint

Wee Day Out (v4)

I stepped out of my usual routine today and gave two fingers to Midweek Workout. 

Instead I got on a bus to Edinburgh and went to see a film. It was not at a cinema, but at the Institut français d'Ecosse. I had not been there since they moved to new, larger premises a few years ago. 

The film was Kompromat and I enjoyed it. The dialogue is in French and Russian, with the setting being mostly Irkutsk. Filming took place in Lithuania. Right up my street, really. 

My Blip is the official entrance to the building. The public entrance is around the back. 

To add to my fun day out in the Big City, I stopped off at the Scottish National Portrait Gallery for a coffee and cake. The main attraction was the toilets to be honest - free and just across the street from the bus station. My fika was excellent, and worth an Extra. 

The entrance hall of the building is reasonably magnificent, and worth an Extra too. 

My final treat was afternoon tea at the (original) Mosque Kitchen. That was also worth an Extra. Keema mattar, rice and a drink for £8. The place is basic but friendly, and the food is great.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.