iaint

By iaint

Relics

Apart from going on my usual Midweek Workout, I have not been very ambitious today. 

The workout was good, and the weather was pleasant. I did forget to try to find something to Blip on my meanderings, or maybe I have run out of interesting possibilities on that route. 

Before I headed for Edinburgh yesterday I was progressing the de-clutter of my garage, by sorting books into stuff which goes straight to re-cycling and items which charity shops might be able to use. 

I came across two books which must have been there 20+ years and I had completely forgotten. The one on the right is the published papers from a conference I spoke at in Vilnius in October 1993, just 2.5 years after Lithuania recovered its independence. 

I think the book on the left must have been a gift from the organisers to us foreign guests. 

I have been surprised by how much I can remember from that brief visit. The hotel - full of left-over Soviet charm. The hospitality and friendship from the locals. Going to the opera on Saturday night. I am fairly sure the UK Foreign Office paid for my trip. 

Do I just put items like that in the waste bin? It seems a shame. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.