Lesser cat's-tail

A long day out yesterday, taking Chris to a Suffolk Fen, where he's trying to find a particularly rare fly that hasn't been recorded since the early 1990's. Lots of photographs taken but no time or energy to sort them out yet!

Today I felt exhausted, as I can't seem to entirely shake off this stomach bug. Nevertheless I managed to go back to Southorpe Paddock and record twenty quadrats.

I wasn't really in the mood for photography, so only took three images all day. At the moment I'm trying to get images of all the local grasses. This is lesser cat's-tail, a species of old meadows and pastures, usually found where the soil is dry and relatively infertile.

This afternoon Alex mowed the lawn while I did a spot of pruning, as the garden is threatening to get away again. Then Ben came and helped me do a Sainsbury's run, and we were home just in time to go out for a pub meal, to celebrate everyone's achievements. It's off to bed for me now - tomorrow I'm taking Chris to Dunwich for the day. Will I finally see a bearded tit in the Dingle Marshes?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.