Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Shite n' onions

God that was a long day, felt like Stephen Daedelus himself dealing with a torrent of business and trying without success to give way to my inherent tendency to wander and daydream (chance would be a fine thing). Good thing the daydream where would we be without it? The stream of consciousness would be unbearable, can you imagine it? Never mind all that trendy mindfulness nonsense, a man's not meant to disappear up his own introspective navel for too long that's why god invented the TV remote control (and here I think of The Soul Mate chastising me for channel hopping but its not my fault there's nothing on so many times over, Joyce the man himself would have done the same thing and written a whole other Ulysses based on cable television and falling asleep over the same). Herding cats that was what today was about. And so the picture. Top Gun the shepherd and Dylan the wriggling sheep. Put me down you big lug, it's no way to treat a cat. Herding cats and getting into the office at 8am and leaving at 7pm. Got out for a while mind. Sat in a church hall and waited my turn to talk. The man next to me killed a fly and made everyone laugh. I think they put the time in the minutes. Bit of sunshine, bloody cold though. Relatively speaking. We looked at pictures of Malta and dreamed of the hot sun but I still fell asleep and woke up with the shivers. One of those days. Shite and onions JJ called them. Just got through to the end.Time for bed now. Good night, sweet ladies; good night, good night. Oh wait that's TS Eliot, oh well they were very similar. To me that is or is it me to them....?

For the record shite n onions is a bit of mild swearing that appears both in Ulysses and one of Joyce's poems as well. Nice little turn of phrase.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.