flavia13

By flavia13

A GRAND DAY OUT

I woke up this morning about 7.30 looked at the clock and thought I'll get up in a minute, the next thing I knew it was nearly 8.30 so I must have dozed off again!!!

I drew back the curtains, saw it was very grey but dry so that's it, we're going out I said.  So we decided to go to Elterwater as it is a nice gentle walk ideal for Hubby at the moment.

We got there about 10:30 I think, went into Chesters for coffee and a Bakewell for me, Cinnamon Bun for him - well someone has to try them!!!

Then just have a lovely gentle walk to Elterwater village.  The River Brathay was in full flow and Skelwith Force was very loud and in full spate.    There were quite a few other people around, some young families, I thought they were back at school this week!!  Aah well it wasn't too busy anyway, just pleasantly so.

Some we met said they were there yesterday too and the path had very deep puddles in places - but today, still a lot of puddles but all passable and you could  walk around them when you needed to.

Went into the Britannia Inn, just a drink as Slates apparently closes on Wednesdays and Thursdays!!!  Then just walked back.  Watched a toddler having great fun jumping in all the puddles, his Mum "It's going to be a long walk!"  It was great to see him having such fun.

Once we got back to Skelwith Bridge we just headed off and suddenly decided to stop at the Waterhead Inn in Ambleside.  We hadn't been in there long when 4 people came in and sat on the same bench as us but about 3 tables down - I thought I know that voice, turned round it is was my lovely friend Lynn from Tai Chi.  We had a hug and she introduced me to her family.  We only ever really see each other these days on a Monday on Zoom, but we used to meet regularly at Lindale Village Hall when we had Tai Chi there.  It was so lovely to see her again and meet  her hubby, son and daughter-in-law.

After that I just wandered around Waterhead taking a couple of photos before heading home.

I phoned Rob's friends down the road to see if they were OK as they had had really bad colds and to see if they needed anything.  They are both well now and totally over it, so Sarah popped up to see as she wanted to show me some bird photos taken by a photographed called Jack Hill who also gave information on how he took them.  Which was really lovely of her to think of me.

So all in all A Grand Day Out.

Now have to edit all the photos, which may take some time.

Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.