talloplanic views

By Arell

What goes up must come down

The weather at lunchtime was good so I headed out for a few miles' bike ride.  Barely ten minutes out of the house it decided to hail! – but this is me, remember, so of course I wasn't surprised.  I rode up to the old Rosslynlee Hospital to see what was happening, because they are building a lot of houses there and around and about.  Much has changed since the last time I visited.  I don't know if the neat but derelict octagonal greenhouse has been demolished, as I rather fancied rescuing it for my garden, but all the farm buildings have gone, preserved only in my photographs from several years ago and memories of exploration.  I shan't shed too many tears for the Y-shaped residential extension building though which wasn't great even when it was in use, and is now little more than gravel.

On the way back I came across some more demolition.  This sign valiantly gave its life warning drivers that the steep, narrow and bendy road of Roslin Glen is "unsuitable for long vehicles".  This is mainly because there is a Bealach na Bà style hairpin bend at the bottom.  Having cycled up the hill and out of the glen (and needing a rest halfway up, because I was hurrying in case a driver came tearing up behind me), I'd say it's unsuitable for almost everything.  There isn't even a footway!

Postscript: Yesterday I playfully pondered what the correct plural of crocus was.  Conventional wisdom says it's a Latin name, and so we apply the second declension and arrive at croci, but generally ignore this in favour of vernacular English, hence crocuses.  Even the Oxford English Dictionary admits as much.  It bothers me more than it should that we conveniently ignore the Latin name's roots in ancient Greek, which named the flower κρόκος.  And because the gender of this word is male it pluralises to κρόκοι, which we would ultimately spell crocoi.  So there you go.  I'm right and everyone else is wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.