This is the day

By wrencottage

Damp

Like the rest of the country, it seems, we have had so much rain here in the past few days. I really do hope that it’s filling the aquifers and reservoirs to help us through the summer, if it should turn out to be very dry.

I ventured out this afternoon to deliver a wedding anniversary card to some friends of ours. It was a struggle to get it through their letterbox; they have one of the tiny ones that look as though they were designed for the Penny Post! Having spent some time lovingly creating the card, I found it quite distressing to have to bend and contort it in order to push it through the tiny aperture. I headed back home, needles of cold rain dripping on my face, and was delighted to be greeted by the aroma of warm scones, straight out of the oven, courtesy of the inestimable Smithers.

My photo is of a gorgeous camellia bush that I passed en route for home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.