MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

If it was only so simple

The aid in the photo is supposed to help Terry get his socks and TED stockings on. In reality it's almost useless. It may work with loose, large socks but the TED stockings have high compression which squashes the plastic thing so small that only a toddler would get a foot in it. Well, we've not tried it yet, but we had a similar one 7 years ago for his other hip and after wrestling with it several times, it went in the bin.
I am going to struggle with his TED stockings as my fingers are somewhat arthritic now plus I have the eczema or whatever it is on my finger neds, making them all cracked (and bleeding at times) plus my fingernails are coming off my fingers ie they are loose half to as much as two-thirds of the way down. Ah well, we'll see how it goes! Expletives will be filling the house.
Terry has been up on crutches today and has walked around with the physio. He has had a lot of pain on the wound and he had to have it redressed this morning as it had bled right through the dressing. Dressings are not usually changed as they are better left undisturbed but there was no choice when it had soaked through and onto the liner on his bed. When the nurse changed it, it appeared to have stopped as she couldn't see where it had come from. It has been OK since. He is getting some good pain relief and sounded more settled this evening. I visited him in the afternoon and we talked for ages on the phone in the evening. He has sat out much of the day. The Consultant came to see him and said the op was straightforward with no complications.
I have been busy getting things ready for him at home and felt shattered later on. I was in bed early at midnight (this is early for me as I never go before 1am normally).
I forgot to mention yesterday that before he went in I suggested he made a list of things to take but he's not a list-maker so I ended up doing it. On the day I was impressed he was using it as he packed and ticking things off. However, every picture tells a story (see extra) and I had to nip home and back to the hospital to get what was missing (essential for getting up this morning).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.