..endeavour to persevere

By Nick_T

La Malouine

Funny sort of day, raining as usual in the morning but stopped mid afternoon and sun came through. I had mentally noted a puddle with potentially a very good reflection when the sun was due west so I popped into town to see if I could blip it.. Alas there was a car parked on the pavement over said puddle and the plan was scratched.

As a fallback I went down into the harbour with Jess this evening.        (she was running up and down a very steep road for an hour) 

There is a French Brigantine, the tall ship Malouine moored in Whitehaven Harbour for a few days. I went out with the tripod to try some long exposures and initially was taking shots side on from the quayside. A squall came in and I ran for cover under a bandstand at the end of the quay by this slipway. As I sheltered I realised this was a much better viewpoint and thankfully the squall blew through leaving a clear sky.

 I have not altered the colours of this shot in any way, the "Wave" to the right is lit up with a ribbon LED which changes colours every few seconds. I got La Malouine in blue, green, red, violet and pink but this orange/peach seemed to be the best fit..
I might make a collage of the others to show the variations.  

The blue lights at the back are on the old quay protecting the inner harbour.
The C2C sign marks the start of the coast to coast cycle route across northern England from Whitehaven > Tynemouth (150miles)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.