caitjob

By caitjob

Pêle-mêle/Haphazardly

I found this place in a back street of Paris and it looks a bit haphazardly placed as it doesn't really fit with the buildings that surround it. It was there first and I think it's a very nice building. It had a plaque saying 'maison « à l'enseigne du Mouton »' (the house with the sheep sign) and from googling it I've found it's one of the oldest buildings in Paris and was built in the 14th century. It's named after the hand painted sign that was used to find houses before street signs and house numbers existed. Sorry about the brief history lesson but I have to get back into the swing of it for next year.

I found it on my afternoon explore, after a trip to reception to discuss dry cleaning and to the bank to ask if my card will work in Spain (yes with no charge, Euros come in handy). I headed to a cool looking paper shop that Martin and I found at some point and then explored the bit between Le Marais and the river. Very interesting area and I like that there's still lots of places in Paris I haven't been. Guess I'll just have to come back.

Then met up with Becky (after using Nikki as a PA as Becky's phone was out of battery) before rushing back to Nanterre to give in my dry cleaning, which I was told as they pushed me out the door so they could close would be done on Saturday. I leave Friday. Slight issue. In the evening I went to meet Becky and some of her friends in a bar by the Pantheon for some very strong beer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.