BRIANW

By BRIANW

Beatles, Beetle & A Yellow Submarine, Rochester

Just had a few bad days hence no blip for a while but then listened last night to a podcast interview from couple of years ago called How Do You Cope? presented by Elis James and John Robins. The episode featured an interview with Gail Porter where they discussed her struggles with her mental health. It was so well done - it was sometimes a tough listen but also funny, heartfelt, intelligent and beautifully conducted by both of the presenters. One of her fundamentals was, however bad she was feeling, she would get up, get outside and do some exercise. I totally agreed on her with that. If in doubt, even if it's the last thing on earth I feel like doing, I try my best to get out for an early(ish) morning run. Even it it's a slow slog I never regret it.
Today, after yet another endless seeming bout of atrocious weather, the sun appeared so me and my brother got up earlier and headed out for a short run. My God, seeing a blue sky again does make all the difference.
After a bit of a rest and a snooze we decided to head over to Rochester for coffee and cake and then a walk in the glorious sunshine. It was while walking down a side street that I spotted today's image. In the rear window of a rather beautiful red and white Beetle (with a roof rack) was this rather surreal display of a Lego yellow submarine, a mini replica of a Voyager satellite and the Beatles alongside a tiny Beetle with an almost indentical roof rack. I'm presuming they were all velcroed to the parcel shelf to prevent them flying about when the car is driven! It really made me smile.
The extra image was taken in the grounds of the castle. Workers Memorial Day takes place on the 28th April every year and is a day of remembrance for workers killed, disabled, injured or made unwell at work. It helps to highlight the preventable nature of most workplace incidents and ill health and to promote campaigns and union organisation in the fight for improvements in workplace safety. I thought these small laminated signs hanging from this tree were very poignant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.