Again and Again

By Ripitup

London Palladium January 1988

I can not remember visiting the theatre as a child.  Certainly not in London.  I have fragments of memories of being on stage; the lead in several primary school pantomimes, hiding amongst the other choir members at Girl Guides and a carnival court selection event which I remember very little of other than  it being a particularly unpleasant experience.. I went to a production of the Crucible for my 16th Birthday and I think I may have taken my nieces to the Sooty Show when they were young. As an adult I have been to a couple of musicals, a ballet and even Cirque De Soleil in Vegas.

I do not know why I saved this program from over 30 years ago.  I went with the family of a man I dated for perhaps a year or so when I was in my late teens. I was 20 in 1988. I think that I maybe was a substitute for someone who couldn't make it. I imagine that it wouldn't have been something that I would have been particularly keen on; I was not a fan on Rod Hull and Emu. Of that I am certain.

It is an emergency blip of sorts. It was suggested that photographing items that I need to let go of might make it easier and I think that is true.  I do not have any problem with letting this go. I briefly wondered if there was a collector that might treasure it but how would I even connect with them.  I suspect that it's next journey will be as paper for recycling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.