Everyday Life

By Julez

St Lawrence's Church, Skellingthorpe

LAst night I had a really bad migraine just before bedtime. I'd felt very weird and not quite right all day - longer in fact. I felt like a migraine was brewing and I wasn't wrong. It was a bit of a weird one as the visual disturbance was quite peripheral and did not stop me seeing what I was looking at. To begin with I thought it was just the brightness from a candle catching my eye. My neck still feels stiff and I'm wary of it returning.

After a good nights' sleep I felt a bit better, despite Minstrel waking me by poking me in the eye at 4:30 AM to tell me that his cat food bowl was empty and would I mind refilling it? (I would mind, and he was told he had to wait until 6 AM - he woke his Dad at that time) I'm still wary the migraine may return but I hope not.

Today I have been to visit my Mum in the care home. She seems quite well in herself and was actually quite chatty today, though of course little of what she said made much sense. She had no idea who I was.

It was quite chaotic at the home when I first arrived. They are in the process of putting down a new floor surface in part of the lounge and chemicals were being used meaning that windows had to be open for ventilation. It's usually very warm in there, but not today!

Brian collected me, and I asked him to take a more scenic route home so I could find a Blip, rather than going via the bypass. We drove through Skellingthorpe village and I spotted this pretty little church. I think it might merit a closer look some time in the future.

Brian is cleaning the oven today. It's a while since it was given a full deep clean. The  nuclear waste cleaner is doing its thing as I type. 

I solved the problem of why Minstrel has been biting me. He is really hungry at the moment for some reason and eating his soft cat food as soon as he is given it. Both bites were when cat feeding time arrived and he thought I needed a prompt. He does have dry food always available for snacking and usually is sensible with it.

Today Wigan play the Australian champions, Penrith Panthers. I'm a little ambivalent about this game. I want Wigan to win, obvs, though it will be a very big ask: the Aussie game is way superior to ours. Saints managed to narrowly beat the same Aussie team in Australia last season, so it would be good to not do any worse than they did. (The Penrith coach apparently said they had never heard of Saints so did not take them seriously or prepare properly for the game, even having a night out before the match, but that they are well aware of Wigan and will not be making the same mistake.) The win seemed to derail their season for a while though, which I do not want happening to Wigan. I'm also concerned about injuries to our players. Conversely, if we do really well the Australian teams will be trying to acquire our players...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.