Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Pottery Noir

I took this a little down the road from my clinic at Lithgow today. I've noticed the chimney before, which belongs to a pottery; Australia's oldest commercial pottery, in fact. In searching for a link for it I came upon this from a Greens MP, which is old but interesting, and this from a real estate developer, which is new and unsurprising.

I took this with the "camera noir" app on my iPhone, and then added a multiply layer in Filterstorm, as it was a bit pale and greyish, and I wanted stronger blacks. That's my only criticism of the app, really: the result is lighter than it shows on the screen when you take the photo. Large here. A couple of other shots reside on my Flickr.

I recalled something nutrition and health-related this morning. Something I learned in medical school rather more than a few years ago. The Japanese have a very high rate of smoking, but - in Japan - don't (or didn't then; I don't know the state of play now) have corresponding rates of heart disease. Move them to a Western country, and their rates (of diabetes and such too) rise to match the rest of that population. Gee. What could be the difference? Even then the diet was mentioned. Oddly, everyone attempted to parcel it out: what part of the diet? Must be the fish! Not seeing the obvious: EVERYTHING.

Oh yeah: Australia has a new/old prime minister. I can't help but think that Gillard being a woman had a lot to do with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.