Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

No sunrise!

I planned to get up for the sunrise this morning - the forecast was good, it looked like there would be a decent sunrise. I slept badly last night due to worrying over silly things, (I am the queen of worrying) so I was awake at 4am. Eventually I got up before 6am to go out to photograph the sunrise, despite there being a thick fog outside. I was sure the fog would lift and it would be a magical morning....but no, the freezing fog did not lift until about 9am, so there was no visible sunrise and it was so cold at -1C. This is Burnham Overy Staithe in the cold fog, I could barely see the boats out at anchor in that thick fog.

After breakfast, and by now lovely and sunny and much warmer, we decided to go to the Cley Marshes to see the birdlife. The Norfolk Wildlife Trust has a very good visitor centre there and usually you can be guaranteed of seeing many species of birds. I was hoping for Marsh Harriers which I have seen many times before, but today, not one was spotted! The usual suspects of shelducks, shovelers, avocet, various types of geese, and various gulls were spotted, and this lovely cormorant drying his wings. They have a few very good hides there located over water so you see many waders from them. 

We had lunch at the George and Dragon in Cley-Next-The-Sea before driving to Holkham to see more birds, and then on to Brancaster Staithe where we watched the curlews and oystercatchers feeding at low tide.

Gavin is currently watching the Six Nations rugby match, screaming at the TV as England are busy losing to Scotland - and he is quick to tell me that Scotland are doing so well as they have a phenomenal imported SA player.

Last night I watched Past Lives on Netflix which I enjoyed very much, it's a slow burner but a thought provoking story about love. I also finished my book, The Bird Hotel which was wonderful and uplifting. I am so tired after so little sleep last night I am not sure I will last through any movie tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.