Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Wells-next-the-sea

Thankfully I slept well last night but the 5am wake up was a cruel shock to the body! We were off by 5.30am to Wells-next-the-sea to photograph the sunrise over the beach huts - of course when we got there it started raining, and it drizzled for most of our time there which meant we had to continually wipe the filter on the camera to avoid those horrible spots in the images. There was no visible sunrise and it was a bit disappointing as a location but you make the best of the situation. I have often photographed these beach huts from the front, so today I photographed them from behind looking out to the sea. 

On our way back to the inn for breakfast we stopped to see this avenue of these beautiful gnarly trees - see extra.

We made it to breakfast just before they stopped serving, and then after breakfast we checked out but sat in the lounge where Justin went over how he processes his images and giving us some tips on processing.He is a very good photo leader and I have enjoyed his workshop. We finished at around 1pm and then we said our goodbyes - contact details exchanged with two women I met on the workshop who live very near to me in Surrey - and then I was on my way to Brancaster Staithe to see Gavin and Xena. 

The previous night when I could not sleep has had its toll on me and I feel utterly exhausted, and also a little ill. By the time I got to our house I had a headache and a slight temperature, but I took some paracetemol and spent the rest of the day being a lazy lump. Gavin walked Xena again in the afternoon but by now the sunshine had turned to rain once again, so I decided not to join them. 

This time next week I will be shivering in my boots in the arctic circle in Norway! To be honest I am not looking forward to it, these workshops are jolly hard work and I am so over the cold conditions of winter. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.