Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Holkham beach

I had a good night's sleep last night, I really needed it as by the time I went to bed I was not feeling great - I think the lack of sleep over the past couple of days and the physical demands of carrying a heavy camera backpack on my back all day just wore me out! The muddy conditions meant that I kept my bag on my back rather than being able to place it down on the ground. 

This morning was sunny with blue skies but there was a strong and cold wind. We decided to go walk from Holkham beach to Wells-next-the-sea, it's a good route as you can walk along the beach or on a path through the adjoining woods. As the icy wind was so strong we only walked on the beach for a short distance, preferring the shelter of the woods. There were many birders out and about as the marshy area next to the beach had nesting larks and snow buntings, which they were very excited about. 

It was a rather long walk right into the town, we were rewarded ourselves with a delicious cappuccino and very tasty GF carrot cake at Wells Deli. As the walk back would be another 1.5 hours into the wind we decided to rather get the coastal bus back to our car parked at Holkham. We were so impressed with the work done to maintain the beach huts at Wells beach, they are looking pristine as is the wooden steps up from the woods onto the beach. There was a 'doggy bar' near the car park - water bowls with water containers for the dogs. The new RNLI station is now open and we watched their rescue boat coming in to land, being brought out the water via a conveyor belt system - see extra. I have also added an extra of some beautiful houses at Holkham estate.

Back home we had a light lunch and then Gavin busied himself with DIY, sanding down a door that was sticking and installing a shower rail over an oval bath in the family bathroom. 

There have been emails about my trip to Norway on Friday, we have a very long lay over in Oslo before our flight to Tromso and we considered changing it to the earlier flight, but it looks like it will be too expensive to do so. The long delay is a result of SAS changing the time of our original flight. It seems people are all flying in at different times, one person is coming from New Zealand, and some are arriving on Thursday already. It will be a long day of travelling as when we finally land in Tromso we still need to drive to Sommaroy. I keep checking the weather forecast for the area and am getting very nervous about the cold conditions. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.