Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Crocuses

Yesterday I missed two parcels being delivered by the postman as I was out walking Xena - annoying really, as we have a large parcel box at our gate and he usually pops the things in there. As one of the items were my prints that I need for the camera club competition on Monday I could not afford to miss the rescheduled delivery for today, so I ordered my groceries online to be delivered (something I never do) and Xena went out for a walk with P the dogwalker so I could be home all morning. 

All went well, Xena had a great walk (judging by the mud all over her when she came home - but easily cleaned up with the portable shower), the postman delivered my parcels, and the groceries came on time with all the right items. I then realised I had time to go out to photograph these crocuses which grow in a large patch in the village, and I love to see them there every year. 

After taking photos I got home and was looking forward to continuing the editing of my Iceland photos when I suddenly remembered that I had an appointment at the optician. Well, two and a half hours later I walked out after an very thorough appointment that ended up being eye wateringly expensive, plus I probably will get a parking fine as I allowed myself a generous two hours parking for an expected one hour appointment, but I was longer than that and after two hours the fine is automatically applied - so an annoyingly expensive day.

The eye test was remarkable - it was with the same optician practice I have been going to for nearly 20 years, but they now have all the latest equipment whereby you don't change lenses as they test your eyes, it is all done electronically at the push of a button. I also had to have an eye scan as my peripheral vision test results were slightly worrying. As I really struggled with my new varifocals that I got at my previous appointment, and now need new ones yet again as my prescription has changed again, I am getting the latest Nikon lenses in my varifocals which give a much wider 'corridor' of vision as with varifocals the edges are usually blurry and only the centre part offers focused vision. Its a bugger having astigmatism and being far sighted.

Now the weekend is upon us, we are going out to dinner tomorrow in London to celebrate Meriel's birthday which happened when I was away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.