Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Fruit

This morning after my walk with Xena I had a zoom lecture on the art of Turner. It was rather interesting, the art historian selected a few of his works and spoke about them and I never realised how his art was so ahead of its time. 

I played around with some fruit slices on my lightpad, I tried a few days ago but I was not happy with the images so I had another go today. It's a work in progress, as it is not as easy as it looks. 

This afternoon I had a lovely video call with my sister in South Africa who was visiting her daughter and grandchild, so I was 'there' for baby's bath time and after his bath as he drank his milk. He is so cute and smiles all the time! I really hope I can see them in August. 

The vaccinations currently being carried out are for group 6 (adults with at risk clinical conditions) and group 5 (age 65 - 70) but I have heard of a few people in group 7 (60 - 65) getting vaccinated already, so last week I tried to book for Gavin but the website said he was not eligible yet. Last night I tried again on the off chance and success, so I managed to book his vaccine for next week and his second one for a date in May. I am in the next category so I will have to wait a little while longer.

I have signed up for a few Royal Photographic Society talks and workshops. On Monday night the RPS talk was by a photographer entitled 'Mono moods'. He creates such amazing black and white images I was so impressed - I find I can never get the right amount of contrast, clarity and definition in my black and white images, they just don't look punchy enough. Nik software (Silver Efex) does a fair job although it adds so much grain to an image which I don't always want. I think most people struggle with mono images, they always look a bit flat to me. When I was checking his website I saw he gives zoom lessons on how to process black and white images, and as I have been considering getting some lessons for a while now and have been researching pros who do this, I went ahead and booked, and my first lesson of two is tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.