..endeavour to persevere

By Nick_T

Choo-Choo !

We went to Carlisle today, Jess to go shopping for "bits" me to go into Carlisle station as 2 historic locomotives were coming through. I'm not a train spotter, more a lover of photography and engineering. My first trip was a few weeks back - a revelation. A real mix of young and old enthusiasts, there were more tripods, cameras and video cameras on platforms than passengers at some points.
It was quite nerve wracking as a newbie trying to work out which platform to be on for the incoming trains, I asked advice from a few spotters and was usually flummoxed by the technicality of response. I resorted to some knowing nods and continued my investigations.

This week I met a very nice chap, Laurie from Darlington who's accent I could actually understand. Turned out he has been chasing trains around the north of England since the 1970s and even had photos of the old engines around Whitehaven during the coal mining years.

There were 2 historic Locomotives in today,
Tangmere, a Battle of Britain Class Steam loco seen pulling in. 
Andania (Extras) , a class 40 diesel loco "The Whistling Highlander" seen heading out to Inverness. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.