If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Misericord

Clickychick needed s shot inside the church so I went along thinking there is likely to be a blip.

The church in the village dates back to the 14th century parts of the medieval woodwork are incorporated in the church as it stands today.  The misericords in the chancel are part of that woodwork.

I knew what a misericord was basically but thought I had better look it up.  It will help to know what you see is the underside of a seat that tilts.

Misericord:

a ledge projecting from the underside of a hinged seat in a choir stall which when the seat is turned up gives support to someone standing.

The shot isn't good as I had the wrong lens on and the space between the pews was dark and restricted, so I concentrated on the carving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.