Living my dream

By Mima

First world issue

Just before I left home for the Show yesterday I discovered that the water pump, which services the kitchen and bathroom, had stopped working.

Rather than leave it until who knew how much later, I phoned the plumber and then spent half an hour in the crawl-space (more like on-your-tummy-space in parts) under the bathroom listening to his suggestions and trying to wrangle the cover off the pump motor. I followed instructions, and found nothing wrong with the fan, so there was a sucking of teeth on the other end of the phone as he decided "it sounds electrical: I'll have to come out."

We discussed the fact that I needed to get to the Showgrounds asap, and that he really didn't fancy working on a Sunday. So he's booked to be here tomorrow.

In the meantime while I do have water on the property, I need to fill my big water carriers at the tap by the garage, then carry them up to the truck. 

It's a hassle and I was grumbling to myself about it this morning. But then I listened to a news report from Gaza. 

I felt utterly ashamed of myself. I have all the water I need. I have power. I have food. The loudest sound Chez Mima is the occasional passing vehicle. I am safe.

Long may my life continue this way. But may I never be complacent about how fortunate I am.

Thank you so much for all the love for my Show success yesterday. I see that - amazingly - I have two blips on the front Popular page. That's a first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.