The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Lying low

The crop is growing, but it's not tall enough yet to conceal this hare that was trying to be as inconspicuous as possible.  Lying very still with ears held horizontal, it was very aware of me, and this was as close as I got before it upped and offed.

A late afternoon walk along Braegate, there were several hares in the arable fields.  I saw three roe deer, including one buck with antlers.  And lapwings and curlews are back from their wintering quarters.  Several lapwings were feeding in the soggier parts of the fields, while the curlew flew over me heading south while calling.  And best of all as I went down Thorney Lane, there was not one, but two barn owls quartering the field edges and verges.  So it looks like we have a potential breeding pair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.